Skip to content


@ tv2000it

Australia is located in the Southern Hemisphere, surrounded by the Indian Ocean to the west and south, and the Pacific to the east. It is formed by the Mainland that is the mainland or the main island, Tasmania and other smaller islands called remote lands, such as the Cocos and Keeling Islands, Christmas Island, Norfolk Island, Lord Howe Island, l ‘Macquarie Island (believed to be part of Tasmania) and Heard Island. Canberra also claims the Australian Antarctic Territory with its bases.

Populated by Aborigines for more than 40,000 years, it has been colonized by the United Kingdom since the 18th century. Australians, who call themselves Aussie, are a multi-ethnic people, including not only Aborigines and Europeans, but also Asians and Americans.